Club History

The Beginning - 1897

Huntingdon Valley Country Club was the first Club in the Philadelphia area to be organized exclusively for golf. The golf course started as nine holes and was located on both sides of Susquehanna Road, In Baederwood, just north of Jenkintown. A year later, The Club rented the Noble Estate and expanded the course to 18 holes and used the Noble farmhouse as its stately Clubhouse. For many years, the course and the golf Members were regarded as the finest that the city has to offer. The enlarged site was now bordered by SEPTA (then Reading railroad) rail line, Old York Road (now Route 611) and Woodland Road.

In 1911 the Club expanded the Clubhouse and added trapshooting, squash, clay and grass tennis courts in order to provide the amenities of a "first-class" Country Club.

By the mid-1920's, the Club decided to relocate to a new site due to the interference from increased automobile traffic as the location of six holes of the golf course necessitated crossing roads.

The Move - 1928

1928 marked the year Huntingdon Valley Country Club moved two miles north from its original Baederwood location. William W. Frazier, the Club's first President, owned most of the 437 acres that encompassed the new site that was bordered by Edge Hill, Paper Mill, Terwood and Welsh Roads, As originally envisioned, there could be two 18-hole layouts, tennis and squash courts, an archery range, swimming pool and facilities for trap and skeet shooting.

For the golf courses the Club hired William S. Flynn and Howard C. Toomey, two of the most respected names in the architectural business. Flynn was the architect of record and Toomey was the engineer in charge of construction. Initially, 27 holes were built, each nine scenic and a challenging par 35.

The Clubhouse was designed by the firm of Tilden, Register and Pepper. There were rooms planned for every occasion including a Grille Room, a Grand Ballroom with a musicians gallery, card rooms, and locker rooms. On the second floor were twelve bedrooms with private baths for Members and guests, while the third floor housed the employees.


Today's Huntingdon Valley offers a blend of the rich traditions of the past with all the contemporary amenities that are necessary for an active and enjoyable Club experience. We strive to offer an atmosphere of exceptional service and warm hospitality, providing members and their guests the unique experience through recreation, fine dining and social interaction.